The Wunderkind

51411ADE-4A3B-4C06-9F2E-7FB87EFC8B41

After months of working on mostly line art, I am feeling the need to experiment, to stretch, to be less literal and more experimental. And Magnolia being one of my all time favorite films, I hope (time allowing) to illustrate each of the major characters, experimenting with something new with each one. I also hope to explore, perhaps through ProCreate video with audio added, the theme of empathy and how each character illustrates different aspects or levels of this and the resulting pain and damage the lack of empathy can inflict.

So, Ive started with Stanley Spector, the wunderkind. I think he is someone we can all relate to, full of possibility, eager to please. And to see how the adults around him, and even the other kids, bully and use him was really infuriating to watch.

Next, sometime soon (hopefully next week) the former quiz kid, Donnie Smith ✌🏽

Leave a comment